Initiative Or What? – Archives – Jun/2009

June 30, 2009 by deadorcs

Monday, June 08, 2009

Ten Foot Pole

 Wow…I was looking at the calendar and realized it’s been over a month since I last posted. How neglectful of my reading audience (all 1/2 dozen of you) I have been. My lack of posting has been a combination of a busy schedule and a fitful cable modem that wouldn’t allow me to stay connected long enough to make a post. I have a sexy new cable modem now, though, so away we go!

In order to get the ball rolling again, I wanted to talk about something that sparked a smile from me. I was heading out of the office a month or so ago; it was quitting time, nothing unusual. As I passed the guard post, I overheard someone say to the guard, “when I get paid this week, I’m gonna pick up a 10 foot pole”.

Now anyone who has been around the game of D&D for as long as I have (or longer) knows what a “10 foot pole” is. This device is the save-all tool of the brave adventurer. Ten foot poles are useful for all kinds of things. Ten foot poles can be tapped on the floor to detect trap doors. Ten foot poles can help you vault over the pit trap the dwarf just stumbled into. A ten foot pool can hoist a gnome or halfling up by the belt in order to see over that ledge; you know, the one your fighter in plate mail can’t quite reach.

A generous DM could allow you to use a ten foot pole as a staff weapon. A generous and creative DM would let you break up the ten foot pole, attach a rope to each end, and allow you to have nunchucks. A rust monster might eat your +5 Holy Avenger; but it couldn’t touch a ten foot pole.

A host of ten foot poles could keep hordes of monsters at bay. You really couldn’t do much damage with them, but you could at least keep the bad guys out of reach. Take two ten foot poles and tie short pieces of rope up and down the poles’ lengths, and you get a makeshift ladder. Bahamut bless the ten foot pole!

Of course, the guy making the original comment to the guard, was referring to a ten foot fishing pole. You know what? A ten foot pole could be used for that as well. I’m not so sure about the more recent editions of D&D, but I know that in the first two, the ten foot pole was nay indispensable.

What other uses for the ten foot pole have you encountered? I’d love to hear from some of you 0ut there. Leave a comment…but don’t leave anything I wouldn’t touch with a ten foot pole.

Until next time…

Game excellently with one another.

Archives

