Initiative Or What? – Archives – Nov/2009

November 30, 2009 by deadorcs

Monday, November 02, 2009

It’s a Trap! E.S.S. Trapbook, Level 5 Traps

Well, we’ve made it half way through the E.S.S. trapbook! I apologize for the tardiness of the post, but work was crazy this week, and with Halloween this weekend…well…had to utilize the back burner.

Here are the 5th level traps:

Click HERE for the full traps document.

Lynk Whistlestop comments:

It’s an accepted fact that most of the folks that make a career out of plundering tombs and strongholds, do so in the dark. Sure, they bring in their own lights; but these are usually dim, and don’t exactly duplicate sunlight, savvy? Of course, some of the nastier things that might break into your underground fortress don’t even like the light. That’s why this particular trap is so effective, see?

Oh…and I can’t tell you what’s inside the bulb, either. I can only tell you that whatever it is, it’s very unstable, and very dangerous.

Level 6 traps later this week!

Until next time…

Game excellently with one another.

Monday, November 09, 2009

It’s A Trap! E.S.S. Trapbook, Level 6 Traps

I am beginning to form the opinion that poking through old archives in order to discover new and ingenious trap designs is detrimental to one’s health…

I think I’m on the backside of the nasty head/chest cold that I developed, but my poor health as of late is the reason for my tardiness with this post. My apologies. Hopefully, I’ll get rid of this sick stuff soon and I can post on a more regular basis. Apparently head/chest colds aren’t on a (save ends) mechanic. Without further delay, here are the 6th level traps detailed in the E.S.S. Trapbook:

Click HERE for the full traps document.

Loralye “Fergie” Ferguson Comments:

As a mage, I’ve had a fascination with the various properties gelatinous cubes exhibit. I was tickled when I discovered an old roommate of mine had managed to isolate some of those very properties for a more controllable use. Melody managed to take all the best parts of the gelatinous cube and put them to good use without all the hassle of a random oozing beastie showing up when you least expect it. I understand she has an edible version of this stuff, too…

Until next time…

Game excellently with one another.

Tuesday, November 17, 2009

It’s A Trap! E.S.S. Trapbook, Level 7 Traps

Well, it looks like we’re coming near to the end of the Trapbook; as we only have three more chapters left. Today’s entry looks at the level 7 traps designed by Epic Security Systems.

On a side note, it looks like these remaining chapters are going up once per week. The traps take a little while to design; and as the holidays approach, the blogging becomes more sporadic. My apologies, and I’ll try to make these entries as timely as possible.

Without further ado, Level 7 traps:

Click HERE for the full traps document.

Killean Pinbottom Comments:

A while back, I had an assistant named Dwight. A bit of a sycophant, but he had some great ideas when it came to distracting and confusing an opponent. When he first came to me with the idea of the beehives, I laughed him out of my office. However, when he showed hurled beehives in use at The Battle of C’ren Sera, I was impressed. The furious bees drove the attacking forces away with far fewer casualties. Having proved his point, I worked with Dwight to develop a trap utilizing a similar idea. Dwight’s department as been buzzing ever since. Get it? “Buzzing?” Bah, I guess it really wasn’t that funny, anyway.

Until next time…

Game excellently with one another.

Thursday, November 19, 2009

It’s A Trap! E.S.S. Trapbook, Level 8 Traps

Hey, what do you know! I managed to work my way through the next chapter of Epic Security System’s Trapbook ahead of schedule. There seems to be a little bit of everything in this chapter; wind, water, and…well, not dirt, I guess. There’s grain though, so that’s good, right? Got a trap in here that’s straight out of Witness.

Without further delay, here are the traps:

Click HERE for the full traps document.

Lynk Whistlestop Comments:

From time to time, I’m called upon to do hydraulics work. It’s not my favorite thing, so when I get a request for a hydraulics trap, I try to make it do something useful beyond harming or hindering invaders. Such was my thinking when Queen Felicia requested her Flash Flood. By the time I was done; not only could Queen Felicia’s castle keep all the water that poured into the cistern, they could use the water to flush out invaders and feed the Queen’s stock of Dire Gators. It was a win-win for all!

Until next time…

Game excellently with one another.

Archives

