No Expiration Date

3

March 1, 2012 by deadorcs

Being the co-manager of a website devoted to gaming, this is the kind of post that I don’t make very often. However, by benefit of being the co-manager of this website (and having a public forum), I felt it was important to say a few words about a recent big event.

You see, yesterday was my Anna & I’s 20th wedding anniversary. As you read this, we’re probably still trying to wake up from too much celebrating the night before.

Twenty years is a big milestone when you consider the longevity of most marriages. Anna & I have each been married before, although my first marriage only lasted a year. To say that we’ve learned a lot in the process, is an understatement.

I’m not going to go off into a long treatise on the sanctity of marriage. Neither of us believe that love requires marriage, or that marriage is only for those partnerships with a particular arrangement of genders. What marriage is, is a symbol of the love people share. It’s a way to tell the world, “Look, we’re a team. You f**k with one of us, and you f**k with both of us”.  As a gamer, I find symbols important. Marriage was a natural.

Unfortunately, symbols can be broken all too easily. I would love to tell you that marriage just requires love & devotion, and everything will sort itself out.  Well, I’m here to tell you, that’s pretty much bulls**t. It’s hard work. Marriage requires ACTIVE PARTICIPATION. Anna & I know all too well what happens when we get absorbed in our own little worlds, and put each other in little boxes.

Things get broken.

Fortunately, for Anna & I, we were able to work past the vast majority of our issues and misunderstandings. It took a willful decision to determine that our marriage would have No Expiration Date. To use a nerd analogy, we’re the iron rations that forever remain on the character sheet. Despite our permanent love for each other, we still argue, and occasionally hurt each other’s feelings. We’re both quite human and far from perfect. The important thing to remember is that despite these occasional lows, it is far more important that we do this thing called “life” together. We work harder than ever before to share in each other’s triumphs and failings. We work and play as a team.

Taking the marriage “feat” isn’t for everyone. You make sacrifices in order to share yourself and hopefully become greater than the sum of your parts. Anna & I don’t always succeed in that, but when we do – the results are EPIC.

Anna & I have some amazing friends. To close out, I want to share the little “pic-cards” that Lyndsay Peters (@GeekyLyndsay) amazing dice bag creator, and Brian Patterson (@d20Monkey) skilled web comic artist shared with us over Twitter.  We love you guys.

Before I forget, I also want to thank Jenny Sloane for the wonderful art at the top of the article. Even when she’s sick, she really comes through. Much love to you, Kiddo! Thank you!

Okay. The rest of you can go read any one of the other fine articles on our site. I just gotta do one more thing.

Anna…I love you more than you will probably ever know. Happy Anniversary, Princess!

 

My name is Randall Walker and This Is My Anniversary

 

3 thoughts on “No Expiration Date

  1. Thadeousc says:

    This made me smile 🙂 Good on you two. I’m looking forward to seeing you two at more cons this year.

    T.

  2. dingolove says:

    Randall, you are easily one of my favorite podcasters and bloggers. Keep up the good work and congratulations on your 20th!

    • DeadOrcs says:

      Why, thank you! It’s not often I get compliments like that, so it’s appreciated! Glad you enjoy the work and thank you for reading & listening!

Comments are closed.

Archives

